Home > Land Rover Customer Relations > Defender 130 warranty
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
chadjizz

England 2013 Defender 130 Puma 2.2 HCPU Orkney Grey
Defender 130 warranty
Dear Land Rover

I brought my 130 new 2 years ago. I have had the usual problems like leaky foot wells and bulkhead, indicator relays packing up etc. Everyone knows you get these teething problems when you buy a Defender. I brought mine to be a works vehicle, opted to buy new so that reliability and down time would be at a minimum. One of the bits of warranty work that has been done is replacing the pop-rivets (which hold the bracket for the stop cables on to the rear tailgate) because they came lose within the first few months and the tailgate would not shut!

Correct me if I am wrong, the 130 hicap is a commercial vehicle, to me that means work related. By no means do I abuse my 130 (Alfie) because it is my money invested. I am a landscaper and fencing contractor so the pick-up is mainly used for tools, I have trailers for bulk and heavy items.

To get tools out I often jump up on to the tailgate and into the pickup bed to get items out because a lot of the space is unreachable from leaning in/over. A few months ago I jumped up onto the tailgate and the pop-rivets on one side of the tailgate snapped, thus resulting in me falling flat on my face but more annoyingly bending the tailgate and hinges because the other side had remained supported. I am only 80kg, so no massive weight. I thought tailgates were also a perfect place to sit and eat lunch on.....

I took Alfie to my local dealer (Caffyns Lewes) and flagged the problem. They acknowledged the fault and understood the problem so contacted Land Rover to initiate the warranty work. Land Rover asked for some photos of the damage etc, so Caffyns sent some over.